Buhari appoints Ekpungu as EFCC secretary, constitutes board members

Nigeria’s President, Muhammadu Buhari, has appointed George Abang Ekpungu as Secretary of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

The president also constituted the board of the anti-graft agency.

In a statement on Monday, Umar Gwandu, spokesperson of Abubakar Malami, attorney-general of the federation (AGF), said the board will operate on a five-year tenure.

Also appointed as Board Members are Luqman Muhammad (South South), Anumba Adaeze (South East), Kola Raheem Adesina (North Central) and Yahya Muhammad (North East).

READ ALSO: Buhari spent over N2.05 trillion on lifting Nigerians out of poverty – Sadiya Farouq

Mr Gwandu said the appointment was in line with Section 2 (1) and Section 4 of the EFCC Act, 2004.

He said that EFCC has been operating without board members since 2015 when Buhari came into power.

Mr Buhari has already directed that the names should be forwarded to the Senate for confirmation, the spokesman said.

In February, the senate confirmed the appointment of Abdulrasheed Bawa as EFCC chairman, following the president’s nomination.


Newsflash Nigeria is an online newspaper that is developed and written exclusively for Nigerians. It’s packed with up-to-the-minute Local and National Economy News, Share & Capital Market, Health, Sports, Education, Technology, Business and Opinions.

To make further advert enquiries or place an order, please contact us at flashnewz247@gmail.com and +2348053316946 and WhatsApp number 08033546732


Emmanuel Amuda

Emmanuel Amuda, a blogger by profession for the past 7 years. He studied Mathematics at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka Contact: +2348053316946 Twitter: @Lackren

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button