Lagos Assembly Sends Strong Message to Sanwo-Olu with Rejection of 17 Cabinet Nominees

The Lagos State House of Assembly has confirmed 22 cabinet nominees out of the 39 that were sent by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu for screening.

The confirmation was done on Wednesday after a thorough and detailed screening process by an ad-hoc committee headed by the Chief Whip of the House, Hon. Fatai Mojeed.

The Speaker of the House, Rt Hon Mudashiru Obasa, congratulated the confirmed nominees and reminded them that they are in office to serve the people of the State and not themselves.

He also assured the Governor and the people of the State that the House would continue to work in their best interest.

The confirmation was done by a voice vote, as the Speaker called out the name of each nominee and asked for the approval of the House.

However, 17 nominees were not confirmed by the House for various reasons.

The list of the confirmed nominees are:

  • Hon. Layode Ibrahim
  • Mr. Mobolaji Ogunlende
  • Dr. Dolapo Fasawe
  • Hon. Bola Olumegbon
  • Mr. Idris Aregbe
  • Ms. Abisola Ruth Olusanya
  • Mr. Moruf Akinderu Fatai
  • Mr. Kayode Bolaji-Roberts
  • Engr. Abiola Olowu
  • Mrs. Toke Benson-Awoyinka
  • Dr. Oreoluwa Finnih- Awokoya
  • Mr. Yakub Adedayo Alebiosu
  • Mr. Lawal Pedro SAN
  • Mr. Tunbosun Alake
  • Mr. Gbenga Oyerinde
  • Dr. Adekunle Olayinka
  • Dr. Jide Babatunde
  • Mr. Afolabi Ayantayo
  • Mr. Tokunbo Wahab
  • Mr. Olakunle Rotimi-Akodu
  • Mr. Jamiu Alli-Balogun
  • Mr. Abdulkabir Ogungbo

The list of the rejected nominees are:

  • Mrs. Folashade Adefisayo
  • Prof. Akin Abayomi
  • Mr. Yomi Oluyomi
  • Mrs. Folashade Ambrose
  • Ms. Barakat Bakare
  • Mr. Gbenga Omotosho
  • Engr. Olalere Odusote;
  • Dr. Rotimi Fashola
  • Mrs. Bolaji Cecilia Dada
  • Mr. Sam Egube;
  • Mr. Olalekan Fatodu
  • Mrs. Solape Hammond
  • Mr. Mosopefolu George
  • Engr. Aramide Adeyoye
  • Mr. Seun Osiyemi
  • Mr Rotimi Ogunwuyi
  • Dr. Olumide Oluyinka.

Newsflash Nigeria is an online newspaper that is developed and written exclusively for Nigerians. It’s packed with up-to-the-minute Local and National Economy News, Share & Capital Market, Health, Sports, Education, Technology, Business and Opinions.

To make further advert enquiries or place an order, please contact us at and +2348053316946 and WhatsApp number 08033546732


Ilesanmi Adekanbi

Ilesanmi Adekanbi, writers and loves writing the story of politics, He is a movie addict. Adekanbi is a Senior Content Creator at Newsflash Nigeria contact me on email:

Related Articles

Back to top button