APC Becomes Minority In The National Assembly As 15 Senators, 37 House Of Reps Join PDP

The All Progressives Congress, APC, has become the minority in the upper chamber as 15 senators elected on the platform of the party joined the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

Senators Musa Rabiu Kwakwanso and Dino‎ Melaye along with more than 13 others have announced their defection to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Others are Rafiu Ibrahim, Ubale Shittu, Barnabas Gemade, Bayero Nafada, Suleiman Hunkuyi, Monsurat Sumonu, Shaba Lafiagi among others.

They announced their defection in a letter read on the floor of the Senate by Bukola Saraki on Tuesday.

Also, 37 members of the House of Representatives have defected from the All Progressives Congress, APC.

Thirty-three members of the All Progressives Congress in the House of Representatives have just defected to the Peoples Democratic Party.

Four others in the APC from Oyo State also defected to the African Democratic Congress.

In the defection letter read by Yakubu Dogara, Speaker of the House, the lawmakers cited fictionalization and division in the party as their reason for leaving.

The details include 33 lawmakers from Kano, Sokoto, Kwara, Kogi and other states, who defected from the APC to the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The four others are from Oyo State who defected from the APC to the African Democratic Congress (ADC).

The defection was announced a while ago by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara.

The announcement, however, threw the plenary into commotion with shouts of PDP, APC, Change, Sai Baba, etc, renting the air.

All attempts by the Speaker to restore normalcy to the House has so far proved abortive as members of both parties engage in shouting bouts.

Dogara described the whole commotion as the “beauty of democracy.”


Newsflash Nigeria is an online newspaper that is developed and written exclusively for Nigerians. It’s packed with up-to-the-minute local and national breaking news, entertainment, sports, education, politics, technology, business and opinions.

To make further advert enquiries or place an order, please contact us at flashnewz247@gmail.com and +248053316946 and WhatsApp number 08033546732

Agency Reporter

Newsflash247 Online Newspaper is a Nigerian online newspaper founded and published in Nigeria. The online newspaper started in May 2017. Website: https://newsflashuk.com. e-mail: flashnewz247@gmail.com Office Cell Number: 08053316946. Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/newsflash2471/ Twitter Page: https://www.twitter.com/newsflash2471/

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button