Why I pick Fayose, Segun Oni, others to be conferred with awards in Ekiti – Fayemi

Ekiti State governor, Kayode Fayemi, has revealed the reason why he picked Ayo Fayose and Segun Oni, who are chieftains of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to be given awards on Saturday, October 30.

Fayemi said the illustrious Ekiti indigenes were to be given the award for their contributions to the state’s development in all facets where the two former governors; Ayodele Fayose and Segun Oni were among the 48 awardees.

The governor said that the impending state awards to be conferred his predecessors, Ayodele Fayose, Niyi Adebayo, Segun Oni, and 45 others, as well as a legal icon, Chief Afe Babalola (SAN), have no political undertone.

Justifying that the 48 awardees were picked on merit, Fayemi said the illustrious Ekiti indigenes were deemed fit for their contributions to the state’s development in all facets.

Fayemi, who spoke through the Commissioner for Special Duties, Alhaji Ayodele Jinadu, revealed this on Wednesday at a press conference heralding the maiden edition of a state honour, tagged ‘Oni Uyi Awards 2021’, slated for October 30.

Fayemi said two former state military administrators, Col. Inua Bawa and Commodore Atanda Yusuf, will benefit from the new honours designed by his government to recognise those he categorised as ‘Architects and Builders’ of Ekiti.

He said honouring Fayose and Oni, who are chieftains of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), shows the awards are bereft of political undertone, saying: “It is history that is bringing us together, not politics.

“Governors Ayodele Fayose and Segun Oni are of PDP, but they have contributed their quotas. When it comes to the issue of development, Governor Fayemi is not political. The interest of Ekiti is supreme and paramount to him”.

Nigeria News: Gunmen kidnap 12 people in Ekiti

The governor stated that the categories of honours they will be garlanded with include: Ekiti Exceptional Achievers (EEA), Member of Ekiti Exceptional Achievers (MEEA), Member of Ekiti Meritorious Service (MEMS), Distinguished Friends of Ekiti, Member of Distinguished Friends of Ekiti (DFE) and Ekiti Reputable Entrepreneurship (ERE).

He added that the conferment of the award is in compliance with the Ekiti State Honours Law, 2020, assented to by Fayemi, to recognise and reward distinguished and hardworking individuals, who have excelled in their respective careers and support the development of the state.

Other distinguished Ekiti to be honoured are the Chairman, Committee for the creation of Ekiti State, Chief Deji Fasuan; the current Secretary to the State Government, Biodun Oyebanji; Secretary of Yoruba Council of Elders, Dr Kunle Olajide; and the late Mrs Bola Omojola.

Also to be garlanded with awards are top-rated traditional rulers like the Ewi of Ado Ekiti, Oba Rufus Adeyemo Adejugbe; the Ajero of Ijero, Oba Joseph Adewole; Alaaye of Efon, Oba Emmanuel Aladejare; and the Obanla of Ijesa Isu, Oba Gabriel Adeniyi.

Newsflash Nigeria is an online newspaper that is developed and written exclusively for Nigerians. It’s packed with up-to-the-minute Local and National Economy News, Share & Capital Market, Health, Sports, Education, Technology, Business and Opinions.

To make further advert enquiries or place an order, please contact us at flashnewz247@gmail.com and +2348053316946 and WhatsApp number 08033546732


Emmanuel Amuda

Emmanuel Amuda, a blogger by profession for the past 7 years. He studied Mathematics at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka Contact: +2348053316946 Twitter: @Lackren

Related Articles

Back to top button