Senate Confirms 22 Commissioners For NPC, Rejects One Over Certificate

A total of 23 commissioners were on Thursday, confirmed for the National Population Commission (NPC), by members of the Nigerian Senate.

The commissioners confirmed on Thursday by the lawmakers are;

1. Nwanne Nwabusi (Abia)

2. Clifford Zirra (Adamawa)

3. Chidi Ezeoke (Anambra)

4. Isa Buratai (Borno)

5. Charles Ogwa (Cross River)

6. Richard Odibo (Delta)

7. Darlington Onuabuchi (Ebonyi)

8. Olusegun Aiyejina (Edo)

9. Ejike Ezeh (Enugu)

10. Abubakar Danburam (Gombe)

11. Uba Nnabue (Imo)

12. Suleiman Lawal (Kano)

13. Jimoh Isah (Kogi)

14. Sa’adu Alanamu (Kwara)

15. Nasir Kwarra (Nasarawa)

16. Aliyu Datti (Niger)

17. Seyi Olusanya (Ogun)

18. Olanadiran Iyantan (Ondo)

19. Mudasiru Hussain (Osun)

20. Cecillia Dapoet (Plateau)

21. Ipalibo Harry (Rivers)

22. Sale Saany (Taraba).

The lawmakers, however, withheld the confirmation of Abdulmalik Durnguwa (Kaduna), a top chieftain of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who was the coordinator of the Nasir El-Rufai Governorship Campaign in Kachia Local Government Area of the state in the last general elections.

The Senate resolved to stand down Durnguwa’s confirmation after the Chairman of the Senate Committee on National Identity Card and National Population Commision, Suleiman Hunkuyi (PDP, Kaduna North) complained that the committee found “discrepancies in the nominee’s credentials.”

The Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu, thereafter, directed the committee to carry out further investigations on the nominee and report back in four weeks.

Newsflash Nigeria is an online newspaper that is developed and written exclusively for Nigerians. It’s packed with up-to-the-minute Local and National Economy News, Share & Capital Market, Health, Sports, Education, Technology, Business and Opinions.

To make further advert enquiries or place an order, please contact us at [email protected] and +2348053316946 and WhatsApp number 08033546732


Agency Reporter

Newsflash247 Online Newspaper is a Nigerian online newspaper founded and published in Nigeria. The online newspaper started in May 2017. Website: e-mail: [email protected] Office Cell Number: 08053316946. Facebook page: Twitter Page:

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button