Salah named FWA Footballer of the Year

Liverpool winger, Mohammed Salah, has been named the Football Writers’ Association (FWA) Footballer of the Year.

Salah, who has scored 43 times in all competitions for the Reds, also won the PFA Player of the Year last month.

It is the 15th time the same player has won the FWA Footballer of the Year and PFA Player of the Year in the modern Premier League era.

The Egyptian is the first African winner of the award, in what FWA Chairman, Patrick Barclay, described as “the toughest call since 1968-69”, when there was a dead heat between Tony Book of Manchester City and Derby’s Dave Mackay.
Barclay added: “Right up to the last week or so we thought it might happen again, so strong was the support for Kevin De Bruyne.

“But Mo Salah’s relentless match-winning form, exemplified by his two great goals against Roma, seems to have swung the vote by a very narrow margin.”

Newsflash Nigeria is an online newspaper that is developed and written exclusively for Nigerians. It’s packed with up-to-the-minute Local and National Economy News, Share & Capital Market, Health, Sports, Education, Technology, Business and Opinions.

To make further advert enquiries or place an order, please contact us at and +2348053316946 and WhatsApp number 08033546732


Agency Reporter

Newsflash247 Online Newspaper is a Nigerian online newspaper founded and published in Nigeria. The online newspaper started in May 2017. Website: e-mail: Office Cell Number: 08053316946. Facebook page: Twitter Page:

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button