Osun LG Polls: APC wins 389 councillorship seats in Osun

The ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) has won all the 389 wards in Osun State in the Local Government election held across the state on Saturday.

Governor Rauf Aregbesola had earlier introduced a parliamentary system of government at the local government level, in which only councillors were elected through an election, while the Chairmen will eventually emerge amongst councillors representing different wards within a local government.

The Chairman of Osun State Independent Electoral Commission (OSIEC), Mr Segun Oladitan informed journalists at the headquarters of the commission on Sunday that only 71 candidates went into the contest, while 318 returned unopposed.

He gave the breakdown of the figures saying 52 out of the candidates that emerged through election were elected from Osun East Senatorial district, 13 from the West, and the remaining six came from the Central Senatorial district.

Oladitan added that going by the results of the exercise, all the APC candidates were declared as winners.

The Chairman, after the announcement, thereafter issued a certificate of return to the 389 councillors.

Newsflash Nigeria is an online newspaper that is developed and written exclusively for Nigerians. It’s packed with up-to-the-minute Local and National Economy News, Share & Capital Market, Health, Sports, Education, Technology, Business and Opinions.

To make further advert enquiries or place an order, please contact us at flashnewz247@gmail.com and +2348053316946 and WhatsApp number 08033546732


Agency Reporter

Newsflash247 Online Newspaper is a Nigerian online newspaper founded and published in Nigeria. The online newspaper started in May 2017. Website: https://newsflashuk.com. e-mail: flashnewz247@gmail.com Office Cell Number: 08053316946. Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/newsflash2471/ Twitter Page: https://www.twitter.com/newsflash2471/

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button