Ekiti 2018: Fayemi To Seek Buhari’s Permission To Contest Governorship Election

A Former governor of Ekiti State and presently Minister of Mines and Steel Developments, Dr. Kayode Fayemi plans to seek President Muhammadu Buhari’s permission to contest the Ekiti State governorship election billed for July 14, 2018.

An associate of the minister who confided in our correspondent said that the minister planned to take another shot at the Ekiti State Government House which he lost to Ayo Fayose in 2014.

Going by the timetable released by the Independent National Electoral Commission, campaign for the Ekiti governorship election will open on April 15, 2018.

To join the race, Fayemi will have to resign from his ministerial job.

The All Progressives Congress under which Fayemi will run already has a long list of aspirants hoping to emerge as the party’s flag-bearer for the election.

Among them are; former governor of the state, Chief Segun Oni, former Speaker Ekiti State House of Assembly, Rt.Hon Femi Bamisile, Adviser to the President on Political Matters, Senator Babafemi Ojudu, a former commissioner for information in Lagos, Hon. Opeyemi Bamidele, a former member of the House of Representatives, Hon. Bamidele Faparusi, a retired permanent secretary, Chief Sesan Fatoba, and Dr. Makanjuola Owolabi, a businessman, Mr. Kola Alabi, an Australian based medical doctor, Dr. Wole Oluyede, son of former governor of old Ondo State, Mr. Muyiwa Olumilua,

Others are Hon. Bimbo Daramola, Mr. Ranti Debo Ajayi, Hon Funminiyi Afuye, Mr. Muyiwa Coker, Senator Gbenga Aluko, Kayode Ojo, Dr. Bayo Orire, Dr. Folorunso Akinyele, Prince Kayode Olofinniyi, Mr. Diran Adesua, Sunday Adebomi, Hon Bisi Aloba, Barr. Olowo Ajayi, Mr. Folorunso Akinyele, Dele Okeya, Prof. Philip Omoniyi Adetiloye, Victor Kayode, Adekunle Esan, Bayo Ogunkayode, Segun Agbalajobi, Ishola Fapounda, Dele Okeya, Senator Ayo Arise, Yinka Akerele, Bayo Babalotin and Dr. Olu Oluleye.

The incumbent governor, Fayose is also working hard to make sure that his party, the Peoples Democratic Party retains the state.

To the consternation of other aspirants in his party, however, Fayose is positioning his deputy, Professor Kolapo Olusola, to succeed him.

Others contestants of the Peoples Democratic Party are: Former Minister of Work and Party Public Secretary, Prince Adedayo Adeyeye, Former MD Wema Bank Plc, Chief Adebisi Omoyeni, Senator Abiodun Olujimi, Ambassador Dare Bejide, Barister Owoseeni Ajayi, all are in the South Senatorial District, the only zone that hasn’t tasted leadership since the creation of the state

Many observers see the Ekiti State governorship election as an acid test for both the APC and the PDP and expect both parties to do their best to win the state.

Newsflash Nigeria is an online newspaper that is developed and written exclusively for Nigerians. It’s packed with up-to-the-minute Local and National Economy News, Share & Capital Market, Health, Sports, Education, Technology, Business and Opinions.

To make further advert enquiries or place an order, please contact us at [email protected] and +2348053316946 and WhatsApp number 08033546732


Agency Reporter

Newsflash247 Online Newspaper is a Nigerian online newspaper founded and published in Nigeria. The online newspaper started in May 2017. Website: https://newsflashuk.com. e-mail: [email protected] Office Cell Number: 08053316946. Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/newsflash2471/ Twitter Page: https://www.twitter.com/newsflash2471/

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button