BREAKING: INEC fixes dates for Edo, Ondo governorship polls

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), on Thursday, February 6, has announced September 19 and October 10 for the Edo and Ondo States Governorship election.

The commission also deregistered 74 political parties in Nigeria.

According to the INEC chairman, Professor Mahmood Yakubu, said with the new decision, Nigeria now has 15 political parties.

The successful parties are

  • Accord Party, AP
  • Action Alliance, AA
  • African Action Congress,AAC
  • African Democratic Congress, ADC
  • All Progressives Congress, APC
  • All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA
  • Allied Peoples Movement, APM
  • Labour Party,LP
  • New Nigeria Peoples Party, NNPP
  • National Rescue Movement, NRM
  • Peoples Democratic Party, PDP
  • Peoples Redemption Party, PRP
  • Social Democratic Party, SDP
  • Young Progressives Party, YPP
  • Zenith Labour Party.ZLP

According to him, 75 parties didn’t satisfy the requirement but one went to Court.

Details later…

Newsflash247 online news portal

Newsflash Nigeria is an online newspaper that is developed and written exclusively for Nigerians. It’s packed with up-to-the-minute Local and National Economy News, Share & Capital Market, Health, Sports, Education, Technology, Business and Opinions.

To make further advert enquiries or place an order, please contact us at [email protected] and +2348053316946 and WhatsApp number 08033546732


Emmanuel Amuda

Emmanuel Amuda, a blogger by profession for the past 7 years. He studied Mathematics at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka Contact: +2348053316946 Twitter: @Lackren

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button