2019 Election: Oyo Deputy Speaker, Eight Others Dump APC

Nine members of the Oyo State House of Assembly on Tuesday announced their defection from the party on whose ticket they won their seat to a new party.

The defection which saw five members of the ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) dumping the party for the African Democratic Congress (ADC), three members of the Accord party and one member of the Labour Party also joined the ADC.

The defectors were led by the Deputy Speaker, Mr. Abdulwasi Musah with their letters of defection read on the floor of the assembly by the Clerk of the house, Mr Paul Bankole during plenary.

Other members who defected include Mr Lukman Balogun (Labour Party to ADC), Mr Bolaji Badmus (APC to ADC), Mr Azeez Billiaminu (Accord to ADC) and Mr Ganiyu Oseni (APC to ADC).

Others are Mr. Olusegun Olaleye (APC to ADC), Mr Samson Oguntade (Accord to ADC) and Mr. Muideen Olagunju (Accord to ADC).

With the defection of the nine members the ADC now have 12 members against the ruling APC whose membership strength stands at 18 members and the People’s Democratic Party left with 2 members in the house.

Also during Tuesday plenary, the house appealed to the Oyo state government to urgently come to the rescue of the state owned institutions with bailout funds and upgrade of subventions released to the institutions.

The appeal followed the discussions on a motion brought to the plenary by Mr Olaleye (Ibadan North 2 state constituency) entitled “financial bailout and improved subvention to Oyo state territory institutions.”

Hon Olaleye said the speedy approval of bailout fund to state tertiary institutions in the state will prevent them from total collapse.

In their separate contributions, the speaker Mr Olagunju Ojo and some members emphasized the need for government to take proactive steps by improved subvention given to the tertiary institutions for the advancement of education sector.

Also the Chairman parliamentary council Mr Olusegun Ajanaku presented a motion on the need to renovate the Obafemi Awolowo stadium for improved services.

The motion co-sponsored by Mr. Olusegun Ajanaku and Mr Fatai Adesina enjoined the federal government to hand over the management of stadium to the state for proper restoration and maximum utilization for promotion of sporting activities.

The house in their unanimous decision urged Federal government to allow state to manage the maintenance of the stadium.

Newsflash Nigeria is an online newspaper that is developed and written exclusively for Nigerians. It’s packed with up-to-the-minute Local and National Economy News, Share & Capital Market, Health, Sports, Education, Technology, Business and Opinions.

To make further advert enquiries or place an order, please contact us at [email protected] and +2348053316946 and WhatsApp number 08033546732


Agency Reporter

Newsflash247 Online Newspaper is a Nigerian online newspaper founded and published in Nigeria. The online newspaper started in May 2017. Website: https://newsflashuk.com. e-mail: [email protected] Office Cell Number: 08053316946. Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/newsflash2471/ Twitter Page: https://www.twitter.com/newsflash2471/

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button