Ekiti Election: NBC Shuts Down Ekiti TV/Radio For Declaring Unauthorised Pro-PDP Results

The National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) has shut down the Ekiti Broadcast Service (BSES) for breaching some provisions of the Broadcasting Code.

Armstrong Idachaba, Director, Broadcast Monitoring of the commission, announced the closing down of the state government-owned radio and television stations late on Saturday night.

Amstrong cited Governor Ayodele Fayose’s breach of the Electoral Act and Broadcasting Code, using the two stations.

He alleged that Fayose went on to announce results in favour of his Deputy and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Professor Kolapo Olusola Eleka.

“The Commission has taken the decision to curb the continued breach of the Electoral Act and the Broadcasting Code on Political Broadcast,” Armstrong said.

“The Commission is particularly irked by the unauthorized declaration of results by the state Governor in the state Broadcast station.

“This is after he went in the air to make malicious and unsubstantiated comments against INEC, the Police and the SSS.”

The commission declared that the broadcasting station would remain shut down until further notice.

Newsflash Nigeria is an online newspaper that is developed and written exclusively for Nigerians. It’s packed with up-to-the-minute local and national breaking news, entertainment, sports, education, politics, technology, business and opinions.

To make further advert enquiries or place an order, please contact us at flashnewz247@gmail.com and +248053316946 and WhatsApp number 08033546732

Agency Reporter

Newsflash247 Online Newspaper is a Nigerian online newspaper founded and published in Nigeria. The online newspaper started in May 2017. Website: https://newsflashuk.com. e-mail: flashnewz247@gmail.com Office Cell Number: 08053316946. Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/newsflash2471/ Twitter Page: https://www.twitter.com/newsflash2471/

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button